Genre: Variety

Showtime premiered on October 24, 2009 as a morning talent show. It had four regular seasons and various special editions. On February 6, 2012, they were reformatted and re-launched as a noontime show and was given a new name with ‘It’s Showtime!’

Vice Ganda began as a permanent judge or ‘hurado’, giving sound judgments and witty remarks to the group contestants. The show started as having only one major competition/segment involving group performances and as time passed by, they rolled to having different novel and remarkable segments and specials. From originally being a hurado/judge, Vice Ganda eventually became one of the main hosts in the show’s quirky and inclusive segments such as Stars on 45, Gandang Babae, I Am Pogay, Kalokalike, etc. Along with the other hosts, he starred in ‘Sine Mo ‘To’ and currently, he has his own advice-giving segment named ‘Advice Ganda.’ In this said segment, he is called as Madam Bertud who gives laudable advices and tags these advices as ‘whogoats.’ Just last March 14, 2015, his (Vice Ganda) Kalokalike won the Ultimate Kalokalike Face 3.

Other notable performances or known gimmicks of Vice Ganda in It’s Showtime were ‘May Nagtext!’ (He shares comments coming from other people but usually comes from him), It’s Showtime 2nd Anniversary Runner-Up, It’s Showtime 4thAnniversary 2nd Place (Team Vice & Kuya Kim; Vice Ganda performed solo since his partner Kuya Kim needed to rest after being hospitalized), his songs Push Mo Yan Teh, Boom Panes, Karakaraka, and a whole lot more.

Awards and Recognitions of Vice Ganda (for It’s Showtime):

  1. Yahoo! Philippines OMG Awards (2011) Funniest Comedian
  2. ASAP Pop Viewers Choice Awards (2011)
  3. 26th PMPC Star Awards for Television (2012) Best Reality & Game Show Hosts Vice Ganda, Anne Curtis, Vhong Navarro, Billy Crawford, etc.)
  4. 27th PMPC Star Awards for Television (2013) Best Male TV Host (Vice Ganda, Vhong Navarro, Billy Crawford)
  5. Yahoo OMG! Awards (2013) Comedian of the Year
  6. Paragala: Holy Angel University’s Central Luzon Media Awards (2015) Best Variety Show Host
  7. 6th Golden Screen TV Awards (2015) Outstanding Male Host in a Musical or Variety Program